Dreadnought by April Daniels


Title: Dreadnought (Nemesis #1)
Author: April Daniels
Publication Date: January 24, 2017
More information on Goodreads

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher, Diversion Books, for the free copy in exchange for my honest opinion.

I was so excited to read this book! A transgender superhero? Yes please!!

The story started really fast. Within the first few pages Danny’s transition happens. But then it really slowed after that. I can kind of understand – going from a boy to a girl with super powers is not something that happens everyday. And I mean physically going from a boy to a girl since she has always been a girl. But the action didn’t really pick back up until about the halfway mark. There were plenty of times at the beginning of this book where I considered marking it as DNF, but so many people on Goodreads loved it so I decided to keep going.

One thing I really did not like about Danny was that she kept doubting herself. She called herself “stupid” and “an idiot” way too many times to count. I kind of lost sympathy for her because her pity parties were way too frequent for my liking. And I guess that some people feel that way, but I’ve never felt that way and I’m not transgender, so I had some difficulty relating to Danny’s feelings.

I also was not a fan of the writing style. Sometimes when the world was being explained, it was almost like there was an omniscient storyteller, rather then Danny explaining things herself. There were a lot of times when I wondered, how would she know that? Not as in “I don’t think she’s that smart” but as in “if that’s a government secret, how would a 15 year old girl know that?”

All in all, it was a fun read. If you’re interested in reading this book I would definitely say give it a shot, but if you’re not interested then maybe you should pass on this one.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

