Summer Blogging Hiatus

image

I hate to be writing this post, but I’m going to be taking a small break from blogging. I’m hoping it will only last until the beginning of September, but I guess it will depend on how I’m feeling. I know I don’t have to really justify myself to anyone, but I just wanted to share a few reason’s why I’m taking a break.

The first reason is because I don’t feel like my content isn’t of high quality. I don’t really participate in any memes except weekend reads, and honestly I don’t think many people are interested in reviews anymore. This isn’t just on my blog, but also on social media. I don’t take that great of pictures of my books even when I do try. I’m finding if you don’t have a certain “look” then people don’t often interact with you. Which brings me to my next point:

tumblr_lubsxr0mcq1qc4zpo

I don’t feel like I belong in the online book community. Whether it be on my blog, my Instagram, my Tumblr, even back when I did Booktube, I always felt like an outsider. Everyone always says how welcoming the community is, but somehow I must have been missed. I know there are a lot more readers online then there was say 7 years ago, but I don’t even have any friends in this community and I’ve been “a part” of it for 4.5 years.

It is sort of my fault, I don’t go online and talk to people everyday trying to make friends, but I’ve also never had anybody approach me. Just a Twitter mention here and blog comment there. I don’t really have any friends in real life so it would have been nice to make friends online who share one of my passions.

Which also segues nicely to my next reason:

I feel like I’m falling out of love with reading. I’m not sure why, but I feel for the past 6+ months I just haven’t loved reading as I used to. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve developed a new passion for knitting and crocheting, or if it’s because I feel like I have to write reviews, and I’m not very good at relaying my thoughts on books.

I didn’t write all of this to get a pity party. I just wanted you guys to know what’s going on. I just want to fall in love with reading again, and if that means I have to stop blogging, then I guess I’ll stop blogging. We’ll find out in September.

In the mean time:

03991-bbts

 

Leave a Reply

