How to Disappear by Ann Redisch Stampler


Title: How to Disappear
Author: Ann Redisch Stampler
Publication Dare: June 14, 2016
More information on Goodreads

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the copy in exchange for my honest review.

I hate to say it, but I could not finish this book. I gave up at 36%, and that’s actually when things started to pick up. I’ve been trying to get through it because I really wanted to know what happens but I would read this book for like 2 mins and just want to bang my head against a wall.

My main problem was the POVs. It’s told in dual narration, which I don’t mind, but it was the narrators that I didn’t mind. Nicolette/Cat/Bean/the million other names she goes by is annoying. I couldn’t stand her. She never explained anything, only saying that she shouldn’t be so compulsive. I get that it’s probably a setup for a big reveal at the end but I just couldn’t stand it. Jack wasn’t that bad but he wasn’t good enough to make up for Nicolette’s POV.

The chapters are really short, only a few pages each, and they are very choppy. I guess I just wasn’t a fan of the writing style and I wasn’t intrigued enough to power through, which I normally do.

I don’t feel fair rating this since I didn’t finish it.

Leave a Reply

