Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine


Title: Ink and Bone (The Great Library #1)
Author: Rachel Caine
Publication Date: July 7, 2015
More information on Goodreads

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the copy in exchange for my honest review.

I am so glad to say that I really enjoyed this book! It reminded me of why I fell in love with YA. A future world where life is dim with an all powerful entity, The Library, that benefits society but is secretly evil and a pack of teens must try to over-through said entity.

This book isn’t for sore stomachs though. There is war and Caine is brutally honest about how war affects people. The hunger, the greed, the hopelessness. It’s very real in this book. This is the only book I’ve read by Rachel Caine and just from this I know she is a very good writer! I was never confused on what was going on and when it got a little boring her writing was just so exquisite that I read EVERY single word of this story. That is a huge deal for me! I feel like I’ve skimmed through the majority of books I’ve read this year.

I also really enjoyed the diverse characters. Since The Library recruits teens from all around the world to train to serve the library, there was a diverse group that was present throughout the entire book. There was also some LGBTQA+ happening! If you want a diverse book, this is one to add to the list. Yes, the main is a cis white guy, but not all of the characters are cis white guys.

The only “bad” thing about this book was that it was a little slow at the beginning and I think someone who might not enjoy reading so much, or someone who doesn’t waste time with books that bore them, wouldn’t finish this book. I kept reading because I was really excited to read this one.

I would really recommend this book! If anyone asks me for a good YA read, this will be at the top of my list!

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

