The Passenger by Lisa Lutz


Title: The Passenger
Author: Lisa Lutz
Publication Date: March 1, 2016
More information on Goodreads

Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for the copy in exchange for my honest review.

The Passenger is a mystery/thriller where a woman – Tanya – finds her husband dead at the bottom of the stairs. A day later she is on the run with a new identity. Along the way she meets another woman on the run – Blue – who flips her world, and they are on the run again, separately.

I was not a fan of this book. I was really excited to read it because I haven’t read a mystery in a while. Unfortunately I didn’t find it very mysterious at all.

It’s easy to decipher that Tanya isn’t her real name and she has ran before, but we don’t find out why until the end, and we aren’t given many clues as to what had happened in her past life. We know it involved a murder but that’s it. Half the fun of reading a mystery is trying to figure out the mystery but if I don’t get any clues, then I can’t figure it out!

I found Tanya had no personality. She was very dull and boring. I understand that she thought she had to change her personality every time she changed her name (until the end) but even then I found that it was very fake and I just had no sympathy for her. Not even when I found out what happened because I didn’t care about her.

The middle of the story, I thought, was very boring. It was just her living her fake life. Which was pretty boring.

The big reveal was very disappointing. I thought something huge would happen, and I guess it kind of did, but I still don’t fully¬†understand why she would run.

I wouldn’t recommend this book.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

