Once Upon a Dream by Liz Braswell

image
Title: Once Upon a Dream (A Twisted Tale #2)
Author: Liz Braswell
Publication Date: April 5, 2016
More information on Goodreads

Thank you NetGalley and Disney Book Group for the special invitation to read this book in exchange for my honest review.

I will admit, I was nervous going into this book because I didn’t really like the one before it, A Whole New World. I was excited though because of the synopsis. What if Aurora never woke up? What if she was stuck in her dream?

I almost marked this book as did not finish because the beginning was just so boring. The writing wasn’t any better then her first book. I actually got really angry and at one point where Aurora says, and I quote “The new queen immediately set out to rectify this with a half-dozen tutors, adding things to the weren’t necessarily ‘princess.’ Like math.” and “Aurora privately wondered if there was a reason princesses weren’t taught math or alchemy or the workings of the world; maybe they just couldn’t grasp it.” I really don’t like these quotes. Like I understand it’s way back when and whatever but young and impressionable girls are reading this and might be thinking that math really isn’t for girls, science isn’t for girls, being book smart is ‘girly.’ The feminist in me hates this because girls can do whatever the fuck they want to do. Activities don’t have genders. Interests don’t have genders. *Rant over*

Literally the story wasn’t going anywhere until about 35%. But then Aurora stated realizing that it was all a dream and she had to fight her way out. It started getting better, but then the prince came in and he was very annoying because he was still in insta-love with Aurora and even she realized how stupid “love at first sight” is.

I do like the character development with Aurora as the story progresses because she becomes more sure of herself, she has more confidence and gets stronger.

I don’t think I would recommend these books though cause they are just not very good at the beginnings.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

