The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

 


Title: The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1)
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Publication Date: March 4, 2014
More information on Goodreads

I know I’m pretty late to the game with this book, but better late then never – right? I’ve heard everyone rave about this series since The Winner’s Kiss (the third/final book) ARCs were given out. Since I couldn’t decide what to read next, I gave this one a shot.

I love this book! But I don’t really know why….

The writing isn’t fantastic. Like, it’s good writing but I never thought “WOW this writing is superb!”

The world building is fine. It’s very subtle and doesn’t give you everything right away, which works for this book. We get vague history about their world, but get more details later on. I found I wasn’t feeling deprived of information which was refreshing.

The characters weren’t outstanding. They were fine, they weren’t bad but they weren’t anything special, save for Kestrel. Kestrel is our main character, the girl on the cover, and she’s a good strategist and very smart. But she isn’t a good physical fighter, which I could identify with and I find it hard to identify with most characters.

I definitely recommend this book.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

