The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth

"description</p
Title: The Things We Keep
Author: Sally Hepworth
Publication Date: January 19, 2016
More information on Goodreads

Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the copy in exchange for my honest review.

I was really excited about this book. I thought it was going to be so sweet and heartbreaking. A story about two young people with Alzheimer’s who fall in love, but are kept separate, in a residential care facility told by the cook who tries to get them to be together. Should be heartbreaking, right?

Not so much. I mean, it was when they started losing their memories. But that was going to happen anyways. I thought something huge was going to happen, and while it did, the story jumps back and forth between timelines which, I thought, took away from the story.

The other thing I wasn’t a fan of, was the 3 points of view. Anna – the woman with early onset Alzheimer’s, Eve – the cook, and Clem – Eve’s daughter. I understand Anna’s and Eve’s points of view, but not Clem’s. Eve and Clem’s family life isn’t even mentioned in the synopsis, but it’s a major part of the plot. Basically half the book.

I don’t think I would recommend this book, but if you’re interested, definitely check it out!

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

2 thoughts on “The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth

Leave a Reply

