Rules for 50/50 Chances Review

23296348
Title: Rules For 50/50 Chances
Author: Kate McGovern
Publication Date: November 24, 2015
More information on Goodreads.

I won an arc of this book from Fierce Reads in a twitter giveaway.

I was so excited to read this book! I just felt like a good contemporary that was going to break my heart was exactly what I needed. And a book about a girl trying to figure out if she wants to know if she inherited the Huntington’s disease mutation from her mother. Perfect!

Except not exactly so.

I did enjoy this book. And I guess it was my own expectations that made me disappointed with this book. The middle/end part wasn’t as heartbreaking as I had hoped it would be. Which is good in a way, your heart won’t get ripped out when reading this book. And it wasn’t that the middle/end was bad! It just wasn’t what I wanted.

Although, I feel as though if a sequel were to be written like 10-15 years in the future, that book would definitely be heart break!

One thing that didn’t agree with me was the storytelling. It was very choppy and jumpy at the beginning, but after the first few chapters it dies down and I go used to it. I also wasn’t a fan of Rose – the main character – at certain times since she got very selfish and scared to live her life. I can’t say 100% but I feel like if I had a 50/50 chance of having a deadly disease, I would live life to the fullest, not hide at home and worry about “what if?” So in that way, I couldn’t really connect with Rose that much.

I do like how the love interest – Caleb – was African American. Although it wasn’t the main theme of the book, the issue of racism did pop up but it was done very elegantly with some very good points made. I also like how it shows that white people aren’t the only people who get sick.

I would definitely recommend this book for a cute, quick read. Don’t go into it expecting anything to deep or depressing, though!

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

