Hex Hall Review

5287473
Title: Hex Hall (Hex Hall #1)
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Publication Date: March 2, 2010
More information on Goodreads.

Alright, this one is an oldie – in YA terms – but it’s been on my shelf for a while and I finally decided to pick it up in October. Specifically for Halloween because I wanted to read something creepy but fast cause I’m so behind on my yearly goal. My review is coming to you now because I went to link it to my Goodreads but no review for it came up on my blog.

My review won’t be super specific mainly because it’s been a while and all of the little details are gone.

I did enjoy this book and immediately went out to buy the rest of the series. I liked how it had witty and sarcastic humor, which is my kind of humor. I feel like younger me would have really connected with the main character, Sophie, especially when right now me felt a bit connected to her. As for diversity in characters, there wasn’t much. But I wasn’t really expecting it and it wasn’t off putting in this book.

The plot was good. It’s a magical murder-mystery. While I had some ideas in my head of who-done-it at the beginning I was pretty spot on at the end. Also, I guess I’m too much of a sleuth or something because there is a big reveal about a certain character and I had that down 100%. Wasn’t even a surprise.

But all in all, this was a quick, fun, and easy read. So if that is something you are looking for, I would suggest this book.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

