Catching Fire Review

catching-fire-book-cover
Title: Catching Fire (Hunger Games #2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publication Date: September 1, 2009
More information on Goodreads

If you haven’t read my review for The Hunger Games, I am rereading this series in preparation for watching Mockingjay Part 2.

According to Goodreads I was “pleasantly disappointed” with this book. I’ve been trying to figure out for hours what I meant. And I think that I liked it, but it wasn’t as good as my friends (who spoiled it for me) led me to believe. Who knows.

This time, I have more of an appreciation for this book, but I still didn’t love it. I think I appreciated Katniss’ mental struggle more. Three years ago, I think I thought she was stupid for her thoughts, but I understand them more and appreciate the character development more.

As for the plot, it wasn’t my favourite. I just thought there was a lot going on for the size of the book. It all happened in rapid succession, when in reality it was a course of just over 6 months. I understand the need for almost everything that was in there, but I just feel it was so jammed with events that there was never a dull moment. I’m glad she only stuck to 3 book and not 4. Could you imagine how many 4 book series there would be instead of trilogies if there was a fourth?!

tumblr_inline_mnl2u5dfot1qz4rgp

27178b351d7f839e77270d7e9d145d98 giphy

LOL

Anyways, I do think this is a good segue into Mockingjay. There are major things that happen in this book that are significant to the plot. This book isn’t just a filler until book three so it’s “a trilogy” which is awesome since this series kind of made trilogies so popular.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

