The Hunger Games Review

41ix4skb2wl-_sy300_
Title: The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publication Date: September 14, 2008
More information on Goodreads

Disclaimer: This is a reread for me. I first read it in 2012 and apparently loved it. This time, not so much. I find it fun to go back and reread books that I used to love because it shows me how I’ve evolved as a reader. I also just wanted to reread the series because of the movie.

Like I mentioned, the first time around I loved this book. I still did enjoy it despite that I knew everything that happened. But one thing that I could not get over, which is something that I’m finding very important to me lately, is the writing.

The writing is very basic and at times annoying. I’d be reading along following the story, then when I read the next paragraph suddenly it was the next day. There was no break between the paragraphs and sometimes I’d really have to read into the next paragraph to realize that we’ve already moved on to next part of the story. This happens a few times which I wasn’t very impressed with. I also wasn’t a fan of the vocabulary sometimes. It might be just me but I don’t like it when an author uses fairly simple vocabulary and then all of a sudden just throws in a giant word. It just always looks out of place to me.

Other than that I did enjoy the book. The characters were dynamic. I liked the balance between action and dull moments. I can also say that I am no longer Team Gale and I’m never really sure why I was in the first place.

I would recommend this book, even though you’ve probably already read it.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

