Overruled Review


Title: Overrule (The Legal Briefs #1)
Author: Emma Chase
Publication Date: April 28, 2015
More information on Goodreads

This book was a free read on xoxafterdark.com though it’s not anymore. Sorry about your luck. When I saw it, I remembered that some of the people I follow have read it, so I decided to give it a go. It wasn’t until I was halfway through that I remembered that they didn’t really like it, because I didn’t really like it.

The beginning was good. It was a flashback that was sentimental, steamy, and sweet. I was so into it, until we got to present day Stanton. He’s an asshole. He doesn’t want anyone marrying the mother of his daughter, the one he’s supposed to grow old with. But he also doesn’t want anyone else touching his side chick, Sofia, who he uses for sex.

Sofia is okay with this all because how could sex possibly lead to feelings?!?!

Everything eventually got really annoying. I was skim reading, especially when suddenly every other word coming out of Stanton’s mouth was the f word. It was a very random and disturbing change. He also seemed to get angry very easily. He was also very selfish and arrogant. I don’t find these qualities very attractive at all. In fact they were repulsing.

I’ve heard the next book is better, but nobody should have to go through a terrible first book to get to a maybe better second book. I don’t know if I’ll pick up book 2. Maybe if I can get it for free, because book 1 was a quick read.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

