When We Were Review

when we were

Title: When We Were
Author: Alexandra Diaz
Publication Date: September 29, 2015
More information on Goodreads.

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

I hate reviewing books that I don’t like because I was raised by the motto “If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all.” One of the only things I did like about this book was the views it presented on sexuality. It talked about how you can be attracted to different genders at the same time, and that how a person can be attracted to people and not their gender. I think these are things that we don’t talk about as much as we should. Sexuality isn’t always black and white. Except I hate how Tara’s mom blames the hurt caused by the males in Tara’s life that turned her to girls.

The other thing I like was Pinkie’s character development. I can’t talk about this without spoiling anything, so skip to the next paragraph for no spoilers. Pinkie is homophobic so when her best friend turns out to be into the same gender, she freaks out. But by the end, she sees that it’s no big deal. Also, during that time she learns a bunch of other things that shows she is really the only character with growth.

The rest was boring. We never really find out if Tara’s boyfriend is really into boys. They hint at it here and there but he never says anything outright… to be honest, other than what the girls witness, we don’t get a lot of details about their lives. Tara and Whitney called each other names and were friends off for a while. If I wanted that kind of drama I’d go back to high school. Pinkie calls her dad “daddy” which I find weird for anyone over 9 years old. I don’t like how we don’t find out until only in the last little bit that Pinkie is a nickname. Also, Whitney Blaire. The fact that they always said her last name when referencing her annoyed me that I started ignoring the “Blaire” part.

The ending was very unsatisfying. I mean, things got resolved but that was it. No epilogue, no 1 year later. Nothing. It was very abrupt especially when an ending like that is only really a new beginning.

Also, the book is divided into Part 1 and Part 2 which I think is unnecessary. What happened before Part 2 was nothing exciting so I don’t understand why they divided it like that.

I don’t think I would recommend this book. The views on sexuality were on pointe, but the rest was just so boring.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

