Under Different Stars Review


Title: Under Different Stars
Author: Amy A. Bartol
Release Date: December 19, 2013
More information on Goodreads

Thank you NetGalley and the publisher for the copy in exchange for my honest review.

I was so excited to read this book. A few people that I follow loved it, and the synopsis made the book sound awesome. But to me, it was a disappointment. Too much hype, I think.

I didn’t really relate to Kricket, and honestly I chuckled a little every time I read her name because all I could think about was the insect. Then I’d laugh and be disgusted at the same time when they called her sexy or attractive because the only picture in my head was this:

and that is not sexy or attractive to me at all. I couldn’t relate to her because she seemed perfectly okay with being kidnapped and taken to another planet. Yes, it made sense because of her abilities that she wasn’t human, but her feeble attempts and trying to get back to earth were never serious. She would just joke about them taking her back. She also seemed to pick up on Ethar’s customs, landmarks, and culture way too quickly. As if she lived there her whole life, which she didn’t.

The writing also didn’t click with me. I don’t know what it was, but I just was not a fan of the writing. These two things combined (since Kricket was the only POV) had me skim reading a lot. I didn’t care for the descriptions, and there was a lot, since she was on a new planet. I also wasn’t a fan of how poorly women are treated on the other planet. Yes, Kricket would point it out, but nothing would happen, because she is “female” and no one would listen to her.

I wasn’t a fan of the romance either. Again, not sure what it was, but it just didn’t click with me. Maybe because every time Kricket would look at Trey she would describe everything that is so perfect about his looks and how it made her feel. I get it, you’re in love! No need to point it out every other page.

The only redeeming quality about this book was the end. Not because it ended, but because that’s when everything got intense. People got killed, others got injured. I won’t say more cause spoilers, but it made me want to read book 2.

Not sure if I would recommend this one, but if you’re okay with writing that isn’t amazing and story line that takes forever to start, have at it!

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

