Forbidden Surrender Review

Title: Forbidden Surrender (Forever #1)
Author: Priscilla West
Publication Date: August 23, 2013
More information on Goodreads

Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for the copy in exchange for an honest review.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect with this book, but at the very least I was hoping it was good since it is in the ‘Most Requested’ section of NetGalley. Plus, it’s also in the ‘Read Now’ section, so how could I resist? One thing I wasn’t expecting was for it to be so short. It comes in at just over 100 pages. Nothing wrong with that. A short read that helps boost my Goodreads goal in a day.

The heat meter on this book never really goes down, although it does go up in some places. The sexual tension is there from start to end, which is tolerable for such a short read. If it were any longer I feel I would get annoyed. Not to say that I wasn’t annoyed at the whole thing, since I kinda was.

I didn’t like Vincent, the main man. He was cocky and arrogant and wouldn’t take no for an answer. He believes that because her body is reacting it means that, even though she is saying no now, she will come around if he keeps doing what he’s doing. He doesn’t rape her, since of course she changed her mind. But it could have been. And just…. No.

Also, he has nipple rings………. No.

He isn’t the only slime that Kristen (our main gal) has dated. This is a spoiler, so continue at your own risk.

Kristen was abused by her ex. Nothing physical, but all verbal and emotional. The book blames it on multiple personality disorder which I am not okay with. It’s basically saying the abuse is okay because of his condition. It is 100% not okay. If he knew he had the disorder, go get help. I know it’s not that easy, but there is no excuse for abuse.

SPOILER OVER

I most likely will not continue this series, since I just don’t care about the story or the characters. I do not recommend this one. Save yourself: there are better, shorter books to hike up your Goodreads goal.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

