The Diviners Review

Title: The Diviners (The Diviners #1)

Author: Libba Bray

Publication Date: September 28, 2012

More information on Goodreads

I had high expectations for this book. A paranormal-murder-thriller set in the 20s? Yes please! Over 500 pages? Doesn’t bother me! It should be a fast paced, heart-bumping read, right? Not really. Yes this book had its thrilling moments but it wasn’t as good as I was hoping.

Lets start with the characters. For a thriller, I think there were a few too many POVs. Evie, Mabel, Theta, Jericho, Sam, Memphis, Blind Bill, Margaret Walker, the 4 people who were murdered. I’m feel like I’m missing a few though, that’s how many there are. I don’t mind multiple POVs in fantasy books, since it helps get a real look at the world. I don’t need that in paranormal New York. I would have been okay with maybe a max of 3 or 4, not 12.

That’s what made this book so long: the POVs. It was good that it didn’t overlap though. I don’t now, I seem to be very picky when it comes to big books. If it doesn’t capture my attention the entire time, it doesn’t need to be that long, but if I’m lost to the world because of a book, it’s not long enough. Unfortunately, this book was too long. I don’t know what it was, it was interesting but it didn’t keep me enraptured until the end. Of course the ending happened too fast. It’s like you blink and it’s over. It wasn’t near as spooky or exciting as I thought it would be.

This is the first book by Libba Bray that I’ve read, and I’ve found out that I’m not a huge fan of her writing. It’s not the worst I’ve read, but definitely not the best either. The transitions were just weird to me. It’s not that they were bad, they were just different and not what I’m used to.

I would have been happy if this book was a standalone, I would be happy. There’s only one thing that leads to the sequel, but I’m not dying to read it.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

