Reading Habits Book Tag

Welcome to the first tag on my blog. I never thought I would do one of these unless someone actually tagged me; but with working two jobs, I don’t have much time to read, so I don’t have a book review for you guys today. It sucks because the books I’m currently reading I am really enjoying, and I feel like it’s been a while since I could get lost in a book.

Without further ado, here is the Reading Habits Tag that was started by Beth from BethJune327. This one is typically done on Youtube, but we all love books.

1.Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
Not really. I typically read on my bed or in the living room. When it is nice out for the all of 3 months of summer that we get, I do enjoy reading outside on the deck.

2.Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Book mark all the way. I actually have a stash, maybe I’ll share it one day if you want. The only time I’ll use paper is when I get a book from the library that I want to read right away and I’ll use the return date slip until I can get one of my bookmarks.

3.Can you stop reading at anytime you want, or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, etc?
I can stop reading at anytime. The only problem I find with doing this is that I can’t always remember exactly what sentence I finished at so I have to reread a little bit. Although, if I am close to the end of a chapter, like a page or two, I try to stop at the end of the chapter, but that doesn’t always happen.

4.Do you eat or drink while reading?
It’s not a ritual for me to have a snack or a drink with me while reading, but I don’t oppose to them as long as my fingers aren’t dirty.

5.Can you read while listening to music/watching tv?
I can read while listening to music, sometimes I’ll read to the beat of the song, but not if I’m watching tv. Even if it’s something that my dad or mom is watching and I’m not super interested in it, I still need to know what happens.

6.One book at a time or several at once?
I try one book at a time, but sometimes I’ll start reading a book that I’m not really into so I’ll read something else. Kind of like The Diary of Anne Frank. I think I’ve been reading that for 2 years now………..

7.Reading at home or everywhere?
I can read anywhere, but when I’m with other people then I will not read. Or if I’m driving. That’s just driving. I do bring a book with me everywhere though, even if I know I won’t be reading. #yolo

8.Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Mainly silently because I find I read faster that way. I used to read out loud quite a bit, but I prefer in my head.

9.Do you read ahead or skip pages?
I try not to, but I have this really bad habit of reading the very last sentence of a book after I start it….. Sometimes it spoils the ending, but a lot of the time it makes me think “wtf?!?!?!?!” and then I’ll be more motivated to finish it. This habit gets difficult with ebooks though.

10.Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
I like to try to keep it like new, but it’s not the end of the world if I break the spine. I just don’t want it falling apart or sitting funny like this:

 or this

11.Do you write in books?
I do not. But I’m starting to think about carrying around a journal to write down my thoughts as I go and quotes that I like.

And that’s it!

Let me know if you do this tag, or if you’ve already done it! I’d love to check it out.

Leave a Reply

