The Shadows Review

Title: The Shadows (The Fianna Trilogy #1)
Author: Megan Chance
Release Date: June 3, 2014
Publisher: Skyscape
More information on Goodreads

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I feel like this review is going to be short. I don’t have much to say because not a lot happened. Basically this book is about Grace, who is Irish, who lives in 19th Century New York. She needs to marry since her dad died and her family is in debt. But Ireland is being taken over by Britain and her love interest want to save his homeland. There’s a bunch of Irish magic that happens and now she must chose which ancient group she will fight with, the Fianna or the Fomori.

My first thought: 19th Century New York and magic?! Awesome!

After finish the book: Why was this not set in Ireland??? Also, not as good as I was hoping.

I get that they all have to go to America because it’s a free country and life is better, but it would just make more sense if they were in Ireland. Their fight to free the country would seem more real.

It takes the whole book to get to the point: telling Grace what she is and letting her choose who fight with. Which was really annoying because there were very few significant things that happened. I won’t spoil it; I’m not that kind of person.

The whole book was very boring and somewhat annoying. I found myself skimming through most of it. If everybody was just upfront with each other there wouldn’t be so much confusion. Which was the only thing that kept the plot going sometimes. You have the chance to tell someone what’s happening, and they really want to know; you tell them. You don’t think about how much you want to kiss them. And it’s not just one character who does this. It’s almost all of them!

Also, there were dates at the start of each chapter, so we knew what day it was. I didn’t really care for this. It made no impact in the story at all.

I thought this would be more fantastical than romance, so I was disappointed. If you’re looking for a fantasy, don’t read this. If you’re looking for a romance, give it a shot, though there are better out there.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

2 thoughts on “The Shadows Review

  1. I just got this one from netgalley too. I sorta like romance…so ill probably like it. Too bad it didn’t have more fantasy elements though, that would have been awesome. I much prefer fantasy or paranormal to overly romantic. lol. 🙂

    Like

    • I like romance, I was just expecting more fantasy then romance. If I’d known that I probably would have liked it more. I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

