A Whole New World Review

Title: A Whole New World (A Twisted Tale #1)
Author: Liz Braswell
Publication Date: September 1, 2015
Publisher: Disney Press
More information on Goodreads

Thank you NetGalley and Disney Press for the copy in exchange for an honest review.

Let me tell you why I thought this book would be epic. It’s a retelling of Aladdin where Jafar takes the lamp and basically wishes to be leader of Agrabah which makes Jasmine become a revolutionary. Pretty cool, huh?

Not really.

The first half of this book was a snooze fest. Almost everything was exactly the same as the movie until Jafar gets the lamp. Because of this, I could only imagine the characters as the Disney characters which was weird when they started to get violent. I also couldn’t really connect with any of the characters which did not help at all.

I basically had to force myself to read this until about the 60% mark. That’s when things finally got interesting. I thought that, because it was moving so slowly, that they wouldn’t actually overthrow Jafar until book 2 or 3 because they already know this is going to be a series. but in the last 40% they actually start fighting back, which was surprising and confusing. The description of the fighting was all over the place and all of the time i thought “how did they do that when they were doing something else?” Don’t worry, I’m not going to spoil the ending for you.

The writing wasn’t really there. I actually started skim reading because I just didn’t care. There was a lot of description, which I don’t mind if it’s interesting. But this wasn’t. I don’t need to be told a bunch of times that the palace towers look like mushrooms. And some of the language just wasn’t right. There was no definition of where they were in time, but I figured they would be back in the day because that’s when the movie happened. But some of the things they said were modern sayings and it just didn’t fit.

This is basically how I felt throughout this book.

PhotoGrid_1437584710123

I would not recommend this one, unless you’re into boring books.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

