Cutlass Review

cutlass 2

Title: Cutlass
Author: Ashley Nixon
Publication Date: March 7, 2014
Publisher: StarSeed Press
More information on Goodreads

If you don’t like pirates, this book probably isn’t for you. It’s about a pirate, Barren, who’s brother killed their father at a young age. Now Barren wants revenge by killing his brother, William, and what better way to lure him out to sea than kidnapping his new fiancé, Larkin. But oh no, life isn’t simply, and what’s supposed to be a simple quest for revenge turns into an adventure full of greed, hate, power, and a few deaths.

Now, I’m no rookie so I knew there was going to be some sort of chemistry between Barren and Larkin because that hasn’t been done before. But I kind of enjoyed it. Except Larkin’s father had kept a lot of knowledge from her, which made her really naïve which means some of her actions were really stupid. I understand that it isn’t her fault; but to go into a prison, where the guards were prisoners that survived the torture, that is owned by your dad thinking that the guards won’t want to hurt you is preventable. More than one person told her the guards wouldn’t treat her nicely but she still goes in. That whole scene was preventable.

Other than that, I found the story moved quite nicely. I didn’t skip read at all through this whole book. I read every single word which doesn’t happen often lately. I don’t know if I’ll read the sequel simply because I would like to think that they evade everyone for the rest of their lives and live as happily ever after as pirates can. I also can’t really see where they would take the story next besides running or trying to overthrow the king.

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

One thought on “Cutlass Review

Leave a Reply

