A Discovery of Witches Review

Discovery_of_Witches_Cover[1]

Title: A Discovery of Witches
Author: Deborah Harkness
Publication Date: February 8, 2011
More information on Goodreads

Oh my goodness. This book is something else. The synopsis is only relevant for about the first 100 and last 100 pages. Everything in between has nothing to do with the synopsis. I thought this book would be an epic battle between witches, vampires, and daemons, all trying to uncover the secrets of this magical manuscript. What this book is actually about, a witch and a vampire who fall in love (which is a no-no in the supernatural world) and try to overcome the obstacles (while figuring out a little about Diana’s magic).

It took me so much effort to read this. Heck, I started this at the beginning of the June and just finished it in July. Normally, I love long books, but not when they just draaaaaaaag on. I need a little action here and there. I don’t need a whole page describing your walk through the garden unless something exciting happens while you walk through the garden.

I also have a huge problem with Matthew, the main love interest. He is bossy, always telling Diana what to do when she wants to do something else. It bugs me that she doesn’t argue, but it also bugs me that every time Diana wants to do something, he has to oppose. Even if it is the “right” thing for her at the time, let her be her own person sometimes. It also upsets me that he expects her to obey his every command: she’s not a pet.

The ending was also disappointing. I’m not going to spoil anything or give details, but I thought an epic battle would happen, cause that’s what it was leading up to. But no, it was like the rest of the book: boring and uneventful. I’m not sure when/if I’ll read the next book. I’m really not into this series anymore.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

One thought on “A Discovery of Witches Review

Leave a Reply

