Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy Review

cross my heart

Title: Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy
Author: Ally Carter
Release Date: January 1, 2007
More information on Goodreads

Told you guys I would try to use more of my own pictures. 😉

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy is book 2 in the Gallagher Girls series. It’s about a girl in an all girls spy school. I enjoyed this one more than the first book, since the first book was all about trying to get the boy. This book is about how some students from the all boys spy school come to spend a semester at the Gallagher Academy.

Needless to say, this book was still mainly about the main character, Cam, and her friends trying to figure out boys. Which I understand, some girls don’t understand boys and they could probably relate to the characters in these books. But there are also some girls who aren’t really interested in ‘figuring out boys’, and those girls weren’t represented in this book, which is sad.

There seemed to be more spy stuff going on in this book, although it was a little anticlimactic. I won’t go into detail since I don’t want to spoil it; but the end result isn’t as cool as you think it might be. There are also a few unanswered questions that are left throughout the book. I’m sure we get answers in a late book, but that doesn’t help me now.

This was a quick read for me, a good thing for my yearly reading goal, but unless you’re under the age of 15 I would not recommend this series. Although, if you are under 15, I would recommend this series. I feel like 14 year old me would really have enjoyed this series. I might continue it, since the characters do get older, and probably more mature.

funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]funky-pink-heart[1]

Leave a Reply

